Ravichandran Ashwin Challenges the DRS Verdict in the TNPL Match
View the Image: Ravichandran Ashwin challenges the DRS verdict in the TNPL match
Earlier, Ashwin demonstrated his skill by taking a wicket in just his second delivery of the match, highlighting what India missed in the World Test Championship final.
During a Tamil Nadu Premier League match between Dindigul Dragons and Ba11sy Trichy, an unusual situation occurred where both the batting and bowling teams used the Decision Review System (DRS).
In the 13th over of Trichy’s innings, bowled by R Ashwin, R Rajkumar was initially given out for a catch behind. However, the batsman immediately requested a review, and the third umpire overturned the decision because the bat had touched the ground when the ball passed it.
After the decision was reversed, Ashwin called for another review and had an intense conversation with the on-field umpires.
He suggested that the spike detected was not solely due to the bat hitting the ground but also because of the ball coming in contact with it. However, the third umpire stuck to the original decision.
In the same match, Ashwin also took the wicket of Trichy’s Daryl Ferrario in just his second delivery. Trichy, after choosing to bat first, were eventually all out for 120 runs.
Ashwin bowled 4 overs, conceding 26 runs and taking the wickets of Ferrario and the opposing captain, Ganga Sridhar Raju.
Despite not being selected in the World Test Championship final against Australia, Ashwin managed to retain his number 1 spot in the ICC Test bowlers’ rankings.
However, India lost the final by 209 runs, leading to criticism of the Indian team management for not including the experienced spinner from the start.
*Image Source: Indianexpress
News Source: Indianexpress